Literary Agent

Mem Fox

Mem Fox was born in Australia, grew up in Africa, studied drama in England, and returned to Adelaide, Australia in 1970. She was an Associate Professor in Literacy Studies at Flinders University in Adelaide until her early retirement in 1996.

Mem is Australia’s most highly regarded picture-book author. Her first book, Possum Magic, is the bestselling children’s book ever in Australia, with sales of over two million. And in the USA, Time for Bed and Wilfrid Gordon McDonald Partridge have each sold over a million copies. Time for Bed is on Oprah’s list of the twenty best children’s books of all time.

Mem has written 29 picture books for children and five non-fiction books for adults, including the bestselling Reading Magic, aimed at parents of very young children. Over the years she has received a huge number of awards and accolades in Australia, including two honorary doctorates. She is now an influential, hectic, grey-haired international consultant in literacy, who has visited the States over eighty times, although she pretends to be a redhead who sits around writing full time.

Mem’s recent picture book Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes is a New York Times Bestseller and is published by Harcourt in the USA. It is published by Walker Books in the UK and Penguin Australia.

Let’s Count Goats!, was published by Beach Lane Books USA in October 2010 and Penguin Australia in November 2010 and her newest book, Yoo-Hoo, Ladybird was published in Penguin in 2013 and in the USA as Yoo-Hoo, Ladybug by Beach Lane Books.

Selected Publications
  • Time for Bed (2014)
  • Opposites (2014)
  • Possum Magic 30th anniversary edition (2013)
  • Goodnight Sleeptight (2013)
  • Yoo-Hoo Ladybug (2013)
  • Yoo-Hoo, Ladybird (2013)
  • Baby Bedtime (2013)
  • Diez Deditos de Las manos (2012)
  • Tell Me About Your Day Today (2012)
  • Possum Magic Numbers (2012)
  • Reading Magic (2012)
  • Two Little Monkeys (2012)
  • Possum Magic Boxed Set (2011)
  • The Little Dragon (2011)
  • A Giraffe in the Bath (2010)
  • Let’s Count Goats! (2010)
  • The Goblin and the Empty Chair (2009)
  • Hello Baby (2009)
  • Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes (2008)
  • Where the Giant Sleeps (2007)
  • A Particular Cow (2006)
  • Hunwick’s Egg (2005)
  • Where Is The Green Sheep? (2004)
  • Night Noises (2004)
  • The Magic Hat (2002)
  • Harriet, You’ll Drive Me Wild (2000)
  • Sleepy Bears (1999)
  • Whoever You Are (1997)
  • Boo To A Goose (1996)
  • A Bedtime Story (1996)
  • Wombat Divine (1995)
  • Tough Boris (1994)
  • English Essentials (1993)
  • Radical Reflections (1993)
  • Time For Bed (1993)
  • Memories (1992)
  • Dear Mem Fox, I Have Read All Your Books Even The Pathetic Ones (1992)
  • Feathers And Fools (1989)
  • Shoes From Grandpa (1989)
  • Sophie (1989)
  • Guess What? (1988)
  • Koala Lou (1988)
  • The Straight Line Wonder (1987)
  • Hattie And The Fox (1986)
  • Sail Away: The Ballad Of Skip And Nell (1986)
  • Zoo Looking (1986)
  • Wilfrid Gordon McDonald Partridge (1984)
  • Possum Magic (1983)