Literary Agent

Charlotte Wood

Charlotte Wood grew up in a large family in country New South Wales. She is the author of three critically acclaimed novels. The first, Pieces of a Girl, won the Jim Hamilton Award for an unpublished manuscript and in 2000 was shortlisted for several other prizes. Her second book, The Submerged Cathedral, was shortlisted for the 2005 Miles Franklin Literary Award and the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, South East Asia/South Pacific region the same year. The Children, Charlotte’s third novel, was published in 2007 to resounding praise. Animal People¬†was published in October 2011 by Allen & Unwin. Love and Hunger, published in 2012, explores the solitary and shared pleasures of cooking and eating in an ode to good food, prepared and presented with minimum fuss and maximum love.

Charlotte has worked as a journalist and editor for many years, and lives in Sydney with her husband.

Selected Publications
  • Love and Hunger: Thoughts on the gift of food (2012)
  • Animal People (2011)
  • Brothers and Sisters (2009)
  • The Children (2007)
  • The Submerged Cathedral (2004)