Literary Agent

Alison Croggon

Alison Croggon is a poet and fantasy novelist who has also done extensive theatre work. She was poetry editor for Overland Extra (1992), Modern Writing (1992-94) and Voices (1996) and was founding editor of the literary arts journal Masthead. In 2000 she was the Australia Council writer in residence at Cambridge University, UK.

Her poetry has been published widely and internationally. Her first book of poems, This is the Stone, won the 1991 Anne Elder and Dame Mary Gilmore Prizes. Her second book of poems, The Blue Gate, was released in 1997 and was shortlisted for the Victorian Premier’s Poetry Prize. Alison’s theatre work includes operas, plays and many of her poems have also been set to music by a variety of composers.

Croggan’s much-loved and acclaimed quartet, The Books of Pellinor — described as ‘fantasy-tastic’ by one newspaper — comprises The Gift (published as The Naming in the USA), The Riddle, The Crow and The Singing. See The books have been published in Australia, the UK, the USA, Germany and Spain, and will soon be released in Portugal and Poland. Audio editions of the quartet have been produced.

Alison’s YA novel, BLACK SPRING, has been publihsed in Aust.

Alison lives in Melbourne.

Selected Publications
  • Black Spring (2012)
  • The Singing: The Fourth Book of Pellinor (2008)
  • The Crow: The Third Book of Pellinor (2006)
  • November Burning (2004)
  • The Riddle: The Second Book of Pellinor (2004)
  • The Common Flesh: New and Selected Poems (2003)
  • The Gift: The First Book of Pellinor (2002)
  • Attempts At Being (2002)
  • Mnemosyne (2001)
  • Mnemosyne ()
  • Black Spring Germany ()